RSS

Winter Wonderland

23 Dec

This evening after I finally finished making the Swedish Meatballs for Christmas Eve I was browsing through some old photos.  This photo was taken early last spring when the creeks started thawing and we had a fresh snow. 

It looks like a winter wonderland to me.  I can imagine floating in a canoe down the  quiet creek through the woods and listening to the  birds singing in the distance.

This evening there is a gentle snow falling outside blanketing the countryside.  Something about this picture reminds me of the movie The Chronicles of Narnia.  It’s been many years since I’ve seen the movie and it would be interesting to go back and watch it again.

This is a picture out my living room window after freshly fallen snow.

It will definitely be a White Christmas this year!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2010 in Holidays, Nature, Photography

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Winter Wonderland

  1. sunshineinlondon

    December 24, 2010 at 4:16 am

    Merry Christmas to you and your family, Jeanne. It looks so beautiful there. Doesn’t look like we’ll have a white Christmas after all – cold, but not white.
    Much love and blessings
    Sunshine xx

     
  2. flyinggma

    December 24, 2010 at 9:25 am

    I’d be happy to send you some of our snow for sure if it were possible. Merry Christmas to you and your family Sunshine. I look forward to reading about your Christmas in London this year. Blessings and love sent your way, Jeanne

     
  3. writerwoman61

    December 24, 2010 at 9:53 am

    This is another beautiful photo, Jeanne!

    Have a wonderful Christmas with your family!

    Wendy

     
    • flyinggma

      December 24, 2010 at 10:39 am

      Thanks Wendy. Blessings to you and your family this Christmas and give that granddaughter an extra hug or two regardless of what Jake might think. Our grandson Jack was up most of the night coughing and crying, just plain miserable and couldn’t get comfortable.

       
  4. Carol Ann Hoel

    December 24, 2010 at 10:02 am

    I live in Texas now and spent 15 years in Florida, but most of my life I lived in the Great Lakes region of the United States. I miss seeing new fallen snow. The photos you display are magnificent showing the beauty of a snowfall. Thank you for sharing…

     
    • flyinggma

      December 24, 2010 at 10:23 am

      Thanks for stopping by. We got another 4 inches of snow last evening and the sun finally came out this morning so the snow is sparkling as the sun hits it. One of my favorite vacations I spent in the South Padre Islands in Texas with my family. I love the pictures I have from the Gulf of Mexico. Jeanne

       
  5. Todd Pack

    December 24, 2010 at 10:33 am

    I love those pictures. Stay warm. I hope Santa’s good to you!

     
    • flyinggma

      December 24, 2010 at 10:47 am

      I hoping to get out and take some pictures today of all the fresh snow. The sun is finally shining after a week of cloudy and snowy weather. Blessings to you and your family Todd. I know Santa will be good to you. You are such a great Dad! Jeanne

       
  6. Joe Clark

    December 24, 2010 at 12:01 pm

    Merry Christmas to you and Dean, and all of your family. Ardis is dishing out hugs to those grandbabies faster’n I have ever seen hugs dished out! Temperatures are better here and I still cannot fathom how any human being can live in less than 70 degrees F! What is up with that? OK, I also have a request – if Jack and Dominic (about the same age) ever have the chance to meet, please keep Jack from teaching Dominic where to hide pacifiers… that blog post has given me nightmares ever since I read it! ;o)

     
  7. JoDee Luna

    December 26, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    These photos are amazing and The Chronicles of Narnia is one of my favorites.

     
  8. flyinggma

    December 26, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    Thanks JoDee. I’ve been having more fun than usual taking photos this winter. Maybe its because we are finally getting some snow this winter. Hope you are having a blessed Christmas. Jeanne

     

Leave a Reply

 
