RSS

The stockings were hung by the chimney with care

23 Dec

Each and every year since we moved into our home in 1993 I have tried to find the perfect place to hang the Christmas stockings.  Some years I hung them on the open stairway in the livingroom.  I’ve hung them on the front of the TV stand.  I’ve tried to hang them from the frame of the window in the living room but haven’t been happy with any place.

I’ve looked at the space around our little stove in the porch where we put up the Christmas tree each year and decided it would be the perfect place.  This is the before picture.

Last Sunday I started my project.  Tonight I finished it and hung the stockings.  This is the after picture.

I came home from work at 7:30 pm and planned on making Swedish Meatballs after work and freezing them.  I gathered my ingredients and went to the refrigerator to take out the ground beef and ground pork and realized that half of the beef that I purchased was gone.  By this time the grocery store in our small town was closed.  There are no 24 hour grocery stores here.  If I wanted to go buy more beef it would mean a drive of 25 miles one way to buy some.  It would have to wait until tomorrow.

I called my daughters to see if they had used  the beef and their response was “Possibly”.  They had made Sloppy Joes with the beef.  They were on the road to another town and said they would pick up some more.  They didn’t get home until 10:30pm so tomorrow it is for the meatballs.  So much for trying to do things ahead of time.

This afternoon when I drove into town to transfer titles I found some more curious cows.   Just thought I’d share.

As I drove past this road ditch I noticed that the branches growing in the ditch had a white frosty look to them as I drove by.  I stopped at decided to take a picture.  As I got closer I realized that there was ice on the branches that gave them the white look.

I hope that as you are preparing for Christmas you will find to take time to observe the beauty around you.

 
 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “The stockings were hung by the chimney with care

  1. sunshineinlondon

    December 23, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Gorgeous photos – cosy ones of your porch, and icy ones of the cows and the branches. Thank you for sharing what you observe, and I wish you a wonderful and blessed Christmas with your family.
    Sunshine xx

     
  2. flyinggma

    December 23, 2010 at 8:09 am

    Thanks Sunshine. I have fun taking pictures of the things I see along the way. It makes the trip down the same roads seem like something new each time if I am looking for a new photo. Blessings to you and your family as well this Christmas. Jeanne

     
  3. 36x37

    December 23, 2010 at 9:18 am

    What a lovely solution to the stocking problem. Your mantle looks festive and quite cozy. I love it.

    And those cows. 🙂 Fabulous.

    We’re in the home stretch on this holiday thing! Keep up the good work!

     
  4. pearlsandprose

    December 23, 2010 at 11:51 am

    Wow, it looks great! Well done!

    “Possibly.” Too funny. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      December 23, 2010 at 2:01 pm

      Thanks! I haven’t quite mastered indoor pictures. I always seem to end up with blurry pictures. It’s been a challenge to get ready for Christmas this year for some reason.

       
  5. planejaner

    December 23, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    I love the response to the meat: “possibly”! funny!
    Yes–so much beauty all around…may we all take the time to notice, and breathe in the glory that is the gift of this Christmas season!
    blessings!
    jane

     

Leave a Reply

 
