RSS

T Minus 58 hours..

22 Dec

 

This morning I am feeling a little bit like this bird being pursued by the neighborhood cat as Christmas Eve  approaches.  I just realized how many hours I have until our first gathering on Christmas Eve and just how much I need to get done before then. 

This year is no different from any other as far as leaving things go until the last-minute but I had high hopes somehow this year would be different.  I guess the key to things being different is to actually have a plan to do things differently.  That didn’t happen.

My family keeps looking under the tree to see if there are any presents for them.  I haven’t wrapped one present yet.  It will be another late night.  This last snow storm has put me behind schedule because of the work involved clearing the snow at the shop. 

I’ve got a mental list going in my head for what I have left to do that I should really put down on paper to see if there is anything I’m missing on my list.  It’s hard to check off an item on a virtual list or add them for that matter.

Tonight I will be spending the evening in the kitchen trying to get food ready for Friday evening.  I always make the Swedish Meatballs and flatbread for our traditional Swedish Christmas Eve dinner.  I like making both items just not the mess.  I like to make them ahead of time and freeze them so it is not so stressful at the last-minute.   There is nothing more depressing than coming home on Christmas Eve with a disaster in the kitchen to clean up before going to bed.

The original plan for the shop holiday hours was to close all day on Friday and open on Monday.  The guys decided this week that we will be  open until noon on Friday and closed all day Monday.  I think they forgot to ask my opinion of the change.  I would have said we should be closed all day Friday and all day Monday.  I was so looking forward to having an entire day to get ready at home on Friday.  It’s always hard to work in the morning and get things ready for the evening.

This morning as I look out my living room window it is dark and dreary, something we have had way too much of lately.  A little sunshine would surely help me get motivated to get some things done.  Maybe tomorrow…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 22, 2010 in Holidays, Life Happens, Nature, Photography

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “T Minus 58 hours..

  1. 36x37

    December 22, 2010 at 9:23 am

    Your Swedish Christmas dinner sounds lovely. Don’t worry, I haven’t wrapped a single present either. I think there are a lot of us last-minute wrappers out there. 😉

    Good luck! Here’s to making every minute count!

     
  2. flyinggma

    December 22, 2010 at 9:33 am

    The Swedish dinner is new to me since I got married. I don’t have a Swedish or Norweigen bone in my body. I am mostly German. I do enjoy my husband’s family’s traditions for celebrating Christmas.

    Good luck to you as well. I’ll be thinking of you wrapping as I drink my coffee with Bailey’s Irish Creme as I wrap gifts tonight.

     
  3. sunshineinlondon

    December 22, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Here’s sending you a virtual ray of sunshine! Bailey’s sounds like a fantastic accompaniment to gift-wrapping (or any activity, really!) and I hope you find all the hours that you need to accomplish all that you have to do. I have no doubt that you will!
    Sunshine xx

     
    • flyinggma

      December 22, 2010 at 10:48 am

      The truly important things will be done the rest probably should not have been on the list in the first place. Bailey’s will definitely stay on the list. Jeanne

       
  4. planejaner

    December 22, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    oh, hang in there! I haven’t wrapped my presents, either…and the kids think I’ve gone on strike!
    I LOVE SWEDISH MEATBALLS!
    what time should I arrive? 🙂
    blessings
    and breathe…
    jane

     
  5. flyinggma

    December 22, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Dinner will be at 5pm and you are certainly invited if you venture to Minnesota. Let me know how many are coming….

    Swedish meatballs have been my contribution to the dinner for the past ten or more years since I offered to make them one year for my mother-in-law. I do enjoy making them and the flatbread as well.
    Blessings to you and your family this Christmas!

     

Leave a Reply

 
