RSS

Horses on a Winter’s Day

16 Dec

This past week I was on my way home from flying when I went past this pair of horses.  I stopped my car and backed up to take a picture of the two.  I sat for a long time and watched to two horses and they stood and watched me.  While I sat in my car and watched I thought back to my junior year in college.

Shortly after Christmas my Mom told me that she would be sending me some money to do something fun.  She said that she didn’t want me to spend it on school.  I thought about for a few days and I finally decided that I would sign up for riding lessons at a nearby college.  I had never been on a horse in my life.  I lived in the city growing up and always thought that it would be exciting to learn how to ride a horse. 

I researched when the classes would be and signed up for riding lessons.  It came time for the first riding lesson.  It was on a Saturday morning at 8 am.  What college student in their right mind signs up for a class at 8 am on a Saturday morning.  I usually worked as a prep cook at an Italian restaurant until 2 am on Friday and Saturday evenings.  I got myself out of bed and drove a half hour to my lesson and arrived about 10 minutes early. 

I asked for directions to where my class was and they directed me to the stable and said I would find my instructor there.  I walked over to the stable and walked inside.  There must be some mistake I thought as I looked around the room.  I was the only adult in the room except for the instructor.  The rest of the students were all elementary age students.  I thought that the class would be beginning college age students not elementary age students.  So much for asking all the right questions.  I pride myself on being prepared.  I wasn’t ready for this.  Once we started the class the age difference didn’t seem to be important.  We were all learning to do something we wanted to do from someone who wanted to teach us about horses.

Learning about saddling a horse was all new to me.  I had one advantage over the younger students, my height.  I could lift my saddle up on the horse without help while the younger students struggled to hoist their saddles up.    My instructor taught us about English riding.  It was fun learning to do something I had always wanted to do.  Each Saturday morning for twelve weeks I got up and headed over for my lesson.  It was rough after working so late but the fresh air was wonderful.  My lessons were in the winter time and many mornings we rode in the indoor arena but the best lessons were when we bundled up and headed outside and rode on the nearby wooded trails. 

I haven’t been on a horse since my lessons in nearly 28 years but I can still remember the feeling of accomplishment having learned something new.  There is a new horse back riding arena just outside of town.  Seeing those horses this past week have ignited a desire in me to ride again but not wait 28 years for the one after that.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 16, 2010 in Nature, New Challenges, Reflections

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Horses on a Winter’s Day

  1. sunshineinlondon

    December 16, 2010 at 5:23 am

    Oh, I’m sure it’ll be great to be back in the saddle after 28 years! I’m so impressed at your dedication to learn to ride when you were a student – that’s some awesome commitment, which clearly paid off.
    Sunshine xx

     
  2. flyinggma

    December 16, 2010 at 8:19 am

    I’m trying really hard not to recall how sore I was for the days that followed that first lesson. It might keep me from making my appointment to go riding. I am hoping that over Christmas that I can find a time to take my two girls with me.
    Jeanne

     
  3. writerwoman61

    December 16, 2010 at 8:25 am

    I hope you get the chance to go riding over the holidays…I haven’t ridden very much, but I liked it! My aunt and uncle had horses and ponies when we were kids…they even got my mom up on a horse (quite an accomplishment – she definitely wasn’t a “farm” girl!).

    Wendy

     
  4. flyinggma

    December 16, 2010 at 8:34 am

    I’m hoping that I can take my girls with me. I haven’t told them of my plans but I thought it might be something we could do together.

     
  5. planejaner

    December 16, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    what a vision I have of you riding on a beautiful horse through the white snow!
    I hope you take your opportunity!
    blessings
    jane

     
    • flyinggma

      December 16, 2010 at 2:45 pm

      I asked my girls this morning if they would like to schedule some riding time over their college break and they didn’t turn me down. Now the next hurdle is our work schedules. We should be able to find an afternoon or morning during their break.

       
  6. JoDee Luna

    December 16, 2010 at 11:56 pm

    How fun! Good for you! I grew up riding horses in the rural valley where I lived. I haven’t ridden in years and wonder what it would be like to do it again. Recently I visited my childhood best friend who used to ride horses with me and my sister. She still has horses and I envy this aspect of her life.

     
    • flyinggma

      December 17, 2010 at 12:55 am

      I’m envious of your childhood with horses and in a rural setting. I love the country much better than the city. I like to visit the city for all it has to offer, music, theatre, museums and the architecture but prefer the quiet of where we live. I’m looking forward to some riding soon.

       

Leave a Reply

 
