RSS

Roadside and Old Time Views

01 Dec

The sun was shining this morning after days of gray clouds, snow and cold which automatically makes it a great day for me.  Once in a while I get to take a short road trip from our shop to the upholstery shop about 20 miles cross-country.  It was a beautiful day for a drive.  I couldn’t help but play a little roadside photo hooky.  Okay, I confess I stopped to take some pictures while I was on the clock .   I really didn’t get a morning break because I was driving instead so a few minutes to take some pictures should be okay and good for the soul.

Along my way I ran into a couple of curious observers as I was taking pictures.

As I passed one hillside I had to stop to take another look at what I saw.  It was something I had never seen before. 

I looked like someone had scribbled all over the hillside.  I suspect that mice have tunneled around in the grass under the snow but I’m not sure.  I will have to do some research on this.  I love the artwork that nature sometimes provides.

When I’m taking pictures I like to get some water in the picture which is hard to do in Minnesota in the winter but I managed to find some open water to photograph along my route. 

 

 

 

 

I love trips to Auggie’s Upholstery Shop because there are always history surprises in his shop.  Auggie restores old car interiors so you never know what you will see inside.  Today it was a 1940 Packard. 

 

My attitude is so much better after some sunshine today.  This is what I woke up to yesterday. 

The snow was so wet and heavy that it broke branches off our White Pine.  Everything  was so much better yesterday after a cup of homemade Turkey Wild Rice Soup and a good book.  A great day to stay inside with 30-40 mph winds most of the day.

Time to head for bed, I feel a cold coming on….

 
14 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2010 in Nature

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Roadside and Old Time Views

  1. sunshineinlondon

    December 2, 2010 at 4:14 am

    Beautiful photos, Jeanne – you live in a stunning area. I especially love the one where it looks like the snow has veins – gorgeous! Hope you have some more sunshine and that you manage to fight the cold.
    Sunshine xx

     
  2. flyinggma

    December 2, 2010 at 8:05 am

    It is a beautiful area but somedays it feels a little small when you see the same things day after day. There is a big world out there that I just long to see. I just have to keep looking for the local treasures, find beauty in them and of course read some more blogs from across the world. Blessings, Jeanne

     
  3. duke1959

    December 2, 2010 at 8:17 am

    How beautiful. One of the things I miss being in the South are those snowy days.

     
    • flyinggma

      December 2, 2010 at 8:47 am

      Thanks Duke. I love the snow, its the cold that comes with it that I have a hard time dealing with. The older I get , the colder it seems each winter. Thanks for stopping by, Jeanne

       
  4. Joe Clark

    December 2, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Just what is that white stuff all over the ground? ;o)

     
  5. flyinggma

    December 2, 2010 at 8:44 am

    Very funny Joe…very funny. Perhaps I could arrange for some to be sent your way! Jeanne

     
  6. duke1959

    December 2, 2010 at 10:13 am

    The cold and snow does help with the Christmas spirit thing.

     
  7. flyinggma

    December 2, 2010 at 10:18 am

    That is for sure. It just doesn’t feel quite like Christmas if we don’t have snow on the ground. It does happen that way occasionally.

     
  8. The Sidebar Review

    December 2, 2010 at 9:36 pm

    Beautiful!!

     
    • flyinggma

      December 2, 2010 at 10:59 pm

      Thanks Tyler. It was a beautiful afternoon.

       
  9. duke1959

    December 2, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    And of course you can watch White Christmas over and over again!

     
    • flyinggma

      December 2, 2010 at 11:00 pm

      How true. It is one of my favorite movies to watch each year along with Its a Wonderful Life.

       
  10. 36x37

    December 3, 2010 at 9:09 am

    Wonderful, wonderful photos! Such charming cows. And that Packard blows me away. Don’t you wish cars still looked just like that?

    This post makes me long for snow–which probably sounds crazy you, since you’re utterly steeped in it. We’re supposed to get 3 inches this weekend. I say bring it on!

     
    • flyinggma

      December 3, 2010 at 9:42 am

      Thanks. I can hardly wait to buy my new camera. Still shopping waiting for the right deal on the right camera.

      I do love snow, it’s just the cold that has to come with it that is so hard to take. Imagine what fun kids would have playing in the snow if they didn’t get cold, wet and bundled up like Ralphie from “A Christmas Story”

      The Packard is beautiful. I have seen so many different old cars at his shop. I only recently started taking my camera with me wherever I go. I am so glad I had it with me for the winter pictures this week. We are supposed to get 6-8 inches of snow tonight.

       

Leave a Reply

 
