RSS

Christmas on the Menu for Thanksgiving

24 Nov

This is the view out my windshield as I drove home for lunch.  It wasn’t snowing this morning when I left for work but it was cold.  About eleven this morning it was like someone turned on a switch and the snow started falling.  It is snowing in earnest.  As I drove up to the post office the temperature read 24 degrees on the bank clock.  Everything about this day feels like Christmas. 

Tonight after work I will begin preparing  a dinner for 24 people not knowing whether anyone will be able to come.  We may be eating turkey for the next month if that happens.  I’m excited to try a few new recipes for this year’s Thanksgiving.

Part of my preparation for any holiday is cleaning the refrigerator.  It’s a job that I really dislike but who wants to open your refrigerator with company standing peering in as you try to find room for whatever they have that needs to be refrigerated. 

It’s always funny what people focus on when company is coming to get ready.  My husband always washes the front door because it is a full glass door and the first thing people see when they come to visit.  I always focus on the bathrooms and the kitchen to make sure they are clean.  My brother-in-law always starts cleaning the junk drawer at his home.  My brother focuses on his garage.  You never know who might like to sample his home-brewed beer when they visit.  My sister-in-law is a dusting freak and looks for cobwebs everywhere. 

Time to head back to work to finish out my day so I can get back home again and start preparing for the Thanksgiving meal.  This morning as I listened to the radio one family said that their tradition is to each take a piece of indian corn from a basket before they sit down to dinner and as they go around the table they tell everyone what they are thankful for in the past year and place the corn back in the basket for next year.

It might be our new tradition, a way to remember what we are truly thankful for this year.  I am thankful this year for new friends to share my thoughts.

Happy Thanksgiving!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 24, 2010 in Family

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Christmas on the Menu for Thanksgiving

  1. Thomas Stazyk

    November 24, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving–have a great time.

    Good luck with the weather–how I don’t miss that!

     
  2. flyinggma

    November 24, 2010 at 3:08 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family Thomas. I’m not a fan of the current weather. Just can’t seem to get warm!

     
  3. JoDee Luna

    November 24, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    There is something so magical about snow blanketing the earth. This scene reminds me of my childhood.

     
  4. Artswebshow

    November 24, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    lol. Do enjoy your cleaning.
    My place is full of paper, dvds and plastic bags
    Just plain old chaotic. lol

     
    • flyinggma

      November 24, 2010 at 10:29 pm

      Thanks for stopping by my blog. It’s a work in progress for sure. My place is hardly clean but I try to straighten things up when others are coming to visit. We are pretty low key around here. I remembered after I wrote the blog when I was growing up my Dad decided to fix the garbage disposal that had been broken for a year a half hour before they were supposed to have people over for dinner. He was still under the sink in his work clothes when guests started arriving.

       
  5. flyinggma

    November 24, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    I love the snow too but not quite this early. The lake looks beautiful with the snow covered hills surrounding it.

     
  6. sunshineinlondon

    November 25, 2010 at 3:25 am

    I am thankful to have connected with you, Jeanne, and I wish you and your family a wonderful Thanksgiving, with a sparkling clean fridge and front door!
    It looks very beautiful and very cold where you are.
    Sunshine xx

     
  7. flyinggma

    November 25, 2010 at 7:16 am

    It is beautiful where we live. This morning as I am writing the temperature is 1 degree Fahrenheit with a -10 F windchill. We don’t usually see these temperatures until January.

    I have had so much fun meeting new people from all over the world. Blessings to you and your family on this Thanksgiving Day. Jeanne

     

Leave a Reply

 
