RSS

Traveling Light

04 Nov

Today as I begin packing for a weekend trip to Santa Barbara, I am thankful that I enjoy traveling light.  If I can possibly pack all I need for the weekend in a backpack so much the better.  My husband is the same way.  We talk about our “Get out of Dodge kit”.  It would include a toothbrush, hairbrush, deodorant, socks, underwear,  a change of clothes,  a good book or two and not much else.  We like to be spontaneous and just go if we can arrange a quick getaway.  Our favorite trips are on our motorcycle, 1984 Honda Goldwing.  Oh the Places we go….

A few years ago we took a family trip to the British Virgin Islands with my extended family which totaled about 25 people in all.  Try to imagine the logistics of moving 25 people, half who were children and all of their luggage for a week’s vacation.  It required getting everyone to the airport, through customs, onto a ferry and from the ferry to the resort.  After a week it was the process in reverse.  My Dad figured out the plan to do it.  Amazing!  I remember looking at my whole family, all of the stuff and thinking there is got to be a simpler way than this.  That trip was the defining moment for my husband and I to simplify our lives not just in traveling , but all parts of our lives.

Too much importance has been placed on material things in the past decade.  The homes got bigger, more expensive and elaborate.  Even our fast food meals got super sized and so did our waistlines.  Along with the bigger and better everything, the  loads we carry got exponentially bigger with regard to financial debt.  All of the stuff owns us rather than us, it.  The more we have, the more storage we need, hence the booming business of storage garages.

In life, as in traveling, I like to go light.  What I mean by this is I don’t want or need to carry a lot of baggage with me wherever I go.  If something happened in the past that offended me.  I need to let it go.  If my plans don’t work out exactly how I imagined them,  I need to go with the flow,  enjoy what it is now and not obsess over what it would’ve been.  It might actually turn out to be better than I had imagined.  One friend refers to her load, as a full plate.  If our plate is full, she says there is no room for dessert, the good stuff in life.

If I keep my load light I am able to help someone else carry their load if needed.  I will have both funds and emotional energy available.  I’ve chosen to travel light on a daily basis as well as trying to lighten the loads of others through my words and actions.

Happy traveling through life today and everyday!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2010 in Reflections, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Traveling Light

  1. The Sidebar Review

    November 4, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Very true! If only it were easy….

     
    • flyinggma

      November 4, 2010 at 8:45 pm

      It’s not easy that is for sure but if I never try….

       
  2. Thomas Stazyk

    November 4, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    Have a great trip! We just got back from a 4 day driving trip–a nice change of scenery.

     

Leave a Reply

 
