RSS

Up North

31 Oct

Some people would consider Central Minnesota as Up North and have visions of pine trees, lakes, bears, jack pine savages and so much more.  This afternoon they would not have been disappointed.  When my husband and I got home from work we started cleaning up our yard.  The strong winds this past week broke many branches off our trees that needed to be cleaned up.  He got out his chainsaw and I got out the wheelbarrow. 

We worked together to clean up the mess and while we worked in the background the sounds around us were like something out of the Red Green Show.  We could hear our neighbor’s sons riding their dirt bikes on a homemade track near their yard.  Every once in a while we could hear a shotgun being fired in the distance.  Duck hunting opened today in our area.  My husband added the sound of the chainsaw to the mix.  When he shut the chainsaw off I could hear the sound of an outboard motor running on the lake.  The only thing we were missing from the Red Green Show was something that was put together with duct tape.  He did have to steal the spark plug from my old lawnmower to fix the chainsaw after it quit but no duct tape was required for the repair.

One of my favorite things to do when we clean up the yard is to start a campfire in the fire ring in our yard.  As I pick up the smaller branches and rake up leaves I burn them in the fire ring.  I love the smell of a campfire.  After I get a fire going then its time to take out the marshmallows for roasting.  It’s a perfectly delightful way to consume sugar. 

Its hours later now and dark outside.  The beautiful fall day still lingers along with the smell of the wood still burning in the fire ring.  Time to sit an enjoy the cleaned up yard, the lake and a hot cup of coffee with my honey.  What could be more romantic?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 31, 2010 in Nature, Reflections, Unfinished Projects

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Up North

  1. altonwoods

    October 31, 2010 at 8:47 am

    Fall is definitely my favorite time of year!

     
    • flyinggma

      October 31, 2010 at 12:59 pm

      Mine too! Just wished that it lasted longer in Minnesota. Thanks for stopping by my blog. You might enjoy a post in the September archives titled “Who’s Got the Plane”

       
  2. JoDee Luna

    October 31, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    Hi, I just had to visit your blog after reading the comment you left on mine. I’m intrigued. My husband took a picture that looks so much like your header picture. Is it from San Francisco? We took the tour around Alcatraz Island.

    My husband works for Lockheed Martin in the aerospace industry. We enjoyed reading your post and looking at the photos of the planes you fly. Having a former missionary background, I concur with your desire for future mission trips.

     
    • flyinggma

      October 31, 2010 at 6:39 pm

      You are correct about the picture. It is from San Franscisco. My husband and I took a belated 25th wedding anniversary trip there in June of 2009. We flew out commercially and then drove a Saturn Sky convertible that we purchased for our car lot back home. It was a beautiful trip home. I loved the California coast and Glacier National Park. It was the first time I had seen either. We didn’t do the trip around Alcatraz we were a little short on time. I am hoping that somehow we can manage a mission trip to Alaska next summer if we can figure out the business end of things.

       
  3. shadybrooks

    October 31, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    Ahhhh….Fall and campfires by the lake at night. My favorite way to end the day! 🙂 Now I want to go out and light up my firepit….. LOL

     
  4. flyinggma

    October 31, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    Make sure you have all the makings for S’mores close at hand. I was out of chocolate for mine yesterday. Enjoy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
