RSS

Can You Divide and Conquer Your To-Do List?

29 Oct

Today was one of those days with a long to-do list.  My husband and I have been working long hours this past month, evenings and weekends included.  We took the day off from work to try to get some things done around home.  This past weekend we started loading up things that needed to go to the landfill and recycling center.  We are desperately trying to downsize the amount of stuff we have in our home and garage.

We finished loading up our grandson and the truck.  We took a slow ride making sure nothing blew out of or off the truck.  When we arrived at the landfill we worked to put the recyclable in their proper bins and sort the non recyclable into their containers.  It felt great to get that job done.  It’s something we have talked about for months but finally got to it today.

When we got home it was on to the next things on our to-do list.  Our daughter brought home her broken laptop for her dad to fix.  While he was dismantling her laptop so he could resolder a portion and order a new part,  my grandson and I headed outside to work on picking up all the branches that blew down in the winds the past few days. 

While I was outside picking up branches I thought about how blessed I am to have the husband I do.  Over the years he has taught me how to do many things that has made both of our lives easier.  I went to college to become a teacher but there are days when I think he is the better teacher.  He is careful not to be critical when he his teaching me something new and always complimentary when I have done a job for him that has allowed him to use his time for other tasks.

Tonight was one of those evenings that we were able to divide and conquer our to-do list.  Our plans had been to drive to our son’s home this evening and pick him up and drive to the race shop that he works at part-time to pick up a TIG welder and shelving that his friend gave him because he is relocating his shop to another town.  As our afternoon progressed it was becoming increasing ly apparent that the evening plans would have to be moved to another day because things were stacking up at the shop that needed to be taken care of by my husband.

Our daughter’s laptop still remained in multiple pieces on my kitchen table although my husband had finished with the soldering but still needed to put the computer back together so our daughter could head back to college this evening.  We had a car customer that wanted to do the paperwork for buying a car this evening and a customer’s truck with a bad motor that needed a plan for the repair.

We decided that the only way to get everything done on our list was to set off in our separate directions to accomplish the many things on our list.  He finished things that needed to be done at our business and then came home and reassembled our daughter’s  laptop and I took the F-650 to the Cities to help my son load up the welder and shelving and deliver them to his home.

It was almost 11:15 when I finally arrived back at the shop to put the truck away when I noticed my husband had taken the time before he went home to move my car close to the truck garage so I wouldn’t have to walk behind the shop to get it when I got home. 

Over the 27 years that we have been married we have tried to make a peaceful home.  Not too critical, helpful and respectful of each other and our children.  We try to work together whenever possible to lighten each others loads.  I used to be critical of how a job was done by another implying that no one could do it as well as I do it.  I now see the benefits of teaching others and allowing them to do a job their way and not to my specifications.  They can feel good about accomplishing something and I have a task completed,  just as I feel good about being able to complete something for my husband or he for me.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2010 in education, Reflections, Unfinished Projects

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Can You Divide and Conquer Your To-Do List?

  1. Thomas Stazyk

    October 29, 2010 at 5:02 am

    A nice description of teamwork!

     
  2. flyinggma

    October 29, 2010 at 6:53 am

    Thanks Thomas! It feels great to know that I have constant companion to help share the load.

     
  3. Teri

    October 30, 2010 at 12:11 am

    Jeanne, you have described a really harmonious relationship with your husband. Was it always that way or was it something you learned/developed over time? I sometimes wonder if I will ever figure this stuff out!
    Great post.
    Thanks.

     
    • flyinggma

      October 30, 2010 at 8:21 am

      Hi Teri, We do have a great relationship but it takes work. We have learned over time what pleases and upsets each other. We try to have a pleasant home. Neither of us enjoys arguing or yelling. We have been in other homes where the husband and wives never talk nice to each other and yell at each other. That’s not the life we choose for us. We’ve been together for 31 years four of those years we dated before we got married.

      The other thing we have is committment. I told my husband when he asked me to marry him “Are you sure you want me because divorce is not in my vocabulary and never will be? If both of you make that committment if forces you to work together through the tough stuff.

      My personal opinion is that too many people look at a marriage more like dating. If it doesn’t work out, there is always someone else out there to choose. I believe that marriage is meant to be more than that. It takes two people who are willing to put the other person first and think about what is best for the both of them. He is above all, my best friend.

       
  4. Teri

    October 30, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    I know it does take a lot of work. I think the biggest ‘wrong’ assumption I have had is that it will be ‘effortless’ or that when it’s right, there won’t be arguments or misunderstandings. How silly! Thanks for your perspective. Fly on!

     
    • flyinggma

      October 30, 2010 at 9:00 pm

      There is nothing silly about trying to make relationships work. I applaud your efforts to want to improve on what you have or will have in the future.

       

Leave a Reply

 
