RSS

Top Ten Things That Gross Me Out When I Detail a Car

05 Oct

I have to admit this is not my usual type of post but I just had to share one small part of my world.  I clean cars for part of my job each day.  Some are trade-ins but most are 2-3 year old vehicles that are lease turn ins or repossessions.  Over the years I keep developing my list of things I hate to find in cars when I clean them.  All of the items have been found by me at least once in the past five years.

10.  leftover food, ie french fries, bits of hamburgers and condiment packages

9.  door pockets filled with garbage, ie used kleenex, gum wrappers

8.  used toothpicks, usually in various stage of being chewed, and dental floss (at least they are concerned about their dental hygiene

7.  unrecognizable chunks of candy melted together under the seat

6.  a pair of men’s dirty underwear and socks ( I wonder if he changed them while driving?)

5.  pet hair, lots of it (This reminds me of the Turner and Hooch movie)

4. finger nail clippings including toe nail clippings ( Who does this in a car?  I can tell you more than one person)

3.  a chocolate milk bottle with milk  soured in it ..chunky, chunky, chunky

2.  a pop bottle with a lot of  spit from a tobacco chewer in it (What’s the official name of that slimy stuff?)

1.  cockroaches along with the eggs & nymphs (just once) but that was enough!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2010 in Humor, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Top Ten Things That Gross Me Out When I Detail a Car

  1. Thomas Stazyk

    October 5, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    You don’t get paid enough!

     
    • flyinggma

      October 5, 2010 at 4:44 pm

      At least somebody thinks so! My job does have its advantages though…anybody need some spare change?

       
  2. The Sidebar Review

    October 5, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    Gross! And why did you have to include that photo??? I am gagging. 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      October 5, 2010 at 8:19 pm

      The photo is just for you now that I know it causes gagging. There is a whole new blog post about the Top Ten things that grossed me out when I was teaching school. These cars having nothing on the gross department compared to my teaching experiences over 10 years. I’ll be sure and find some photos that will go along with that post if I decide to write it. Think nose snot and where you might find it.

       
  3. sunshineinlondon

    December 2, 2010 at 8:54 am

    Oh my word, Jeanne – how awful. How do you manage to clean the cars without gagging? Do you have a technique, or something that you think about to take your mind off the grossness?
    I’ve travelled in some cars with the most unbelievable amount of rubbish in them … it amazes me that people can be like that.
    I can see the link between this post and mine of today! People! xx

     
  4. flyinggma

    December 2, 2010 at 9:12 am

    I spend a lot of time writing my posts in my mind while I am cleaning the cars. There is plenty of thinking time during my days. I carry a post card in my back pocket and write down random thoughts I want to remember.

    I managed to write the first eight chapters of a book I am working on that way. Takes my mine off the grossness if I think I might be accomplishing something else.

    I do love the finished product of a freshly shampooed vehicle that has been buffed and waxed to a beautiful shine. Especially knowing what I started with in the first place. Jeanne

     
  5. Delorfinde

    December 2, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Oh, that is DISGUSTING … how can people put up with that? Made me feel ill just thinking about it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
