RSS

Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Lights in the Night

21 Sep

 

I was raised in the sixties.  During my childhood and beyond my Dad always stressed it upon us six kids to turn off the lights in the room when you leave it.  You just didn’t waste electricity or anything else for that matter.  This is unfortunately a lesson I haven’t passed on successfully to my four children. 

They do however wear their seatbelts when they drive which was another of Dad’s lessons.  The car didn’t start until all the seatbelts were on.  Thanks Dad!

So tonight as I was walking from my grandson’s bedroom upstairs back down to the kitchen to put the rest of his bottle in the refrigerator, I was amazed at the number of little lights on in my house as I walked through it in the dark beginning with the nightlight in my grandson’s room.

In the livingroom I could see six little lights burning,  one on each of the three laptop computers, one on the satellite TV box, one on the Wii and one on the smoke detector in the upstairs hallway.

As I walked into the kitchen I could see more little lights burning.  Two clocks, one on the microwave and one on the stove.  Three little red lights on the front of the dishwasher, to tell me my dishes are cleaned and sanitized.  Over in the corner on the floor is another on  the paper shredder and just outside the kitchen door I know the doorbell is illuminated.  One light on the cordless phone on the counter.  Down the hall is another smoke detector and a light on the front of the chest freezer in the laundry room.

I can’t see the rest of the lights from here as I type this post by the light of the laptop but I know that there are 3 cellphones on chargers in the house and two more smoke detectors.  In the basement there is also a light burning on the charger for my cordless drill and another satellite TV box.  In my bedroom my alarm clock and in our bathroom is my husband’s electric razor are illuminated as well.

So tonight before I go back to bed I will make a brief tour around the house and shut off as many of those twinkling little lights as I can but know tomorrow night if I am up and about after dark they will probably be shining just as brightly as tonight.

Now when I think of the childhood song Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star it will remind me of all those little lights I saw as I walked through my dark home rather than the stars in the sky.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2010 in Reflections, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Lights in the Night

  1. Thomas Stazyk

    September 21, 2010 at 3:14 am

    This is a good reminder–there are so many “necessities” constantly running that you lose track of them. You can save a lot of money (and resources) by simplifying and shutting things off. Amazingly, kids are the worst!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 21, 2010 at 8:49 am

      I couldn’t agree with you more on the too many “necessities”. My old stove that I replaced after 25 years didn’t have a clock that was always illuminated nor did my old dishwasher.

      I usually don’t have so many little lights on but with two grown children living at home they come with a certain number of electronic devices, Wii, laptop computers, and cell phones.

       
  2. Joe Clark

    September 21, 2010 at 7:17 am

    Very good post!

     
    • flyinggma

      September 21, 2010 at 8:51 am

      Thanks Joe! I probably should have been sleeping instead of posting but I couldn’t sleep so might as well write.

       

Leave a Reply

 
