RSS

Who’s Got the Plane?

18 Sep

“You have the plane”  said the CFI to the student.  

“I have the plane”  said the student. 

“You have the plane”  said the CFI to the student. 

 And so the exchange takes place.  In flight instruction it is a procedure that takes place in the cockpit to verify who is flying the plane.

In my Christian walk instead of letting God be in control of my life in all areas,  I tend to decide which things I can handle, pass off the things I feel are out of my control, or I have messed up to the point that I know only God can straighten them out. 

In Proverbs 3:5-6 it says “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.”   

God wants us to rely on him FIRST.  He wants to give us the desires of our heart but first he wants our heart.  He wants our obedience.  He is not telling us that we won’t be able to do what we want but he asks us to wait sometimes, to have patience.  His timing can offer us protection.  We don’t see the whole picture.

God is ready to step in and help us,  just as the CFI is there in the cockpit, but he’d rather us not having to go through some of life’s experiences, which can be painful to learn as we step out and try to take control and we lack the necessary tools to handle our present situation.

It can be very humbling trying to land an airplane when your CFI has to take the controls to keep you both from danger but I’m glad he is there to teach me.  God is able to humble us when we get too prideful and take the controls from Him and try to fly our own plane of life.

It’s a flight I’d rather not take.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 18, 2010 in Flight training, Inspiration

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Who’s Got the Plane?

  1. Ardis

    September 19, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Great post! As Christians, we know we should trust in the Lord in all aspects of our lives. In spite of this truth, we continue to insist upon keeping the control and maybe give God the tough stuff. Thank you for the reminder.

     
    • flyinggma

      September 19, 2010 at 4:19 pm

      Thanks for stopping by my blog. It seems like whenever I try to take the controls things eventually get out of control. Things become more difficult than I think God intended for them to be. I do know that we grow as Christians through adversity but our own stubborn independence can take us longer to get where God intends us to be so He can use us.

       
  2. Joe Clark

    September 19, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Jeanne,

    That’s my Ardis… 🙂

     
    • flyinggma

      September 19, 2010 at 6:06 pm

      I thought so… You are so very blessed to have each other!

       

Leave a Reply

 
