RSS

Roaming Birdfeeder vandals…Should I be afraid?

01 Jul

Every morning as part of my usual routine I grab my coffee and book and head outside in the summer to my porch where I sit and read and watch the birds on my feeder.

This morning for the third time in the past month this is what I have seen when I walked outside.  I need to get one of those nature cameras that are triggered by motion to see what is doing this to my birdfeeder.

At this point in time my mind has gone from a possible group of rogue squirrels that come and vandalize my feeder to a raccoon or could it be a bear?  They can be found north of here about 50 miles but we haven’t seen any in our area yet.  I would really like to know.  It is not an easy task to knock this feeder down but whatever it is, it has been successful one too many times.  Perhaps I don’t need a camera maybe I will have to sit quietly on my porch all night to see what comes.  Maybe I’m not ready to know what lurks in my backyard each evening while I sleep.

It has been fun watching the birds this spring.  I watched the other day as one woodpecker stayed on the tree and made squeaktoy sounds while another went to the feeder, got some sunflower seeds, and returned to the tree to feed the other.  Then the squeaktoy sounds would begin again and the other was off for more seeds.

Yesterday there was a ruckus to my left and as a looked there were two Robins chasing a squirrel up one tree and down the next and back up the third tree and then the squirrel headed horizontally across from tree to tree with the robins chasing him.  I wonder what he was up to that started the chase?

The feeder has had many different types of birds visit it so far this spring.  I have seen Woodpeckers, Nuthatch, Grosbeak, Cardinals, Purple Finch, Gold Finch, Red winged Blackbird, Cedar Waxwing, Ruby Throated Hummingbirds, Mourning Dove and Robins so far this spring.  I have to get some oranges out and maybe the Orioles will come for a visit.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2010 in Nature

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Roaming Birdfeeder vandals…Should I be afraid?

  1. Linda

    July 1, 2010 at 7:59 am

    Oh, it’s a mystery! But I enjoyed your description and account of what may be going on while you sleep!

     
  2. Thomas Stazyk

    July 1, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Sounds like something racoons would do!

     
  3. flyinggma

    July 1, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    I did a little research over my lunch today. As I was walking through my flower garden and through the pines I discovered some scat I haven’t seen before and thanks to the internet I looked up raccoon scat and I believe you are correct. Now I just have to figure out what to do about it.

    Wasn’t that some nice after lunch research?

     
  4. Thomas Stazyk

    July 1, 2010 at 4:33 pm

    Sounds like a fun lunch hour! Raccoons are bad news. Every house I ever lived in in Ohio had them either in the chimney or attacking the garbage cans. I think they were protected so all you could do was trap them which was another adventure. A friend of mine had a cabin–in Minnesota I think–and raccoons actually broke in and trashed the place. They even opened the fridge. He became a reluctant expert in raccoon scat! Good luck. I look forward to hearing how the war goes.

     
  5. flyinggma

    July 1, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    I hope it will be a short war. I learned way too much about raccoon scat over lunch even the fact that you shouldn’t touch it. Not that I was tempted. One site carried this warning!

    WARNING: Raccoon scat may contain the eggs of raccoon roundworm, Baylisascaris procyonis, which can be fatal to humans, so handling it is not advisable. If you do find a raccoon latrine in your attic or near your home, get professional help with the cleanup. If you clean it up yourself, you risk exposing yourself to the disease. Baylisascaris procyonis “is a well-known cause of visceral, ocular, and neural larva migrans in humans and other animals.”**

    I think its time for the motion detector camera soon so I can see just how many raccoons are out there.

     
  6. Thomas Stazyk

    July 2, 2010 at 2:55 am

    We may not have the 4th of July down here, but at least we don’t have raccoons with baylisacaris procyonis in their poop running around!

    You should put the video from the motion camera out on YouTube–it will probably go viral!

    Have a great weekend.

     
    • flyinggma

      July 2, 2010 at 7:12 am

      Last night when I walked down to the lake to read I kept thinking about raccoon scat which is something I haven’t done until yesterday. I was barefoot and it was getting dark. I thought I sure hope I don’t step in any. Its not like its all over in our yard. Just two spots that I’ve found. I hate wearing shoes but if I’m walking after dark I may resort to wearing them until I get this figured out.

      This morning as I walked outside to check on the birdfeeder I reassembled and rehung last evening I was just in time to see my band of rogue squirrels on my other feeder and saw it crash to the ground. The wire it was hanging from broke, they fell, and they scurried away.

      I have to wait for my nephew to charge the batteries on his motion camera before I can use it. Hopefully this weekend. Have a great weekend as well! Jeanne

       
  7. Thomas Stazyk

    July 2, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Wandering down to the lake to read sounds like a wonderful way to spend an evening–you shouldn’t have to worry about raccoons! But the good news is that you have some evidence that it’s just a squirrel problem.

     

Leave a Reply

 
