RSS

Treasures in My Own Backyard

27 Jun

Mushroom under the Pines

The past few weeks I have been in a funk.  Tired of the non-stop rainy cloudy weather.  We haven’t seen much sun lately just a lot of rain.  This morning was no different when I woke up to rain once again.  This is unusual weather to say the least.  This time of the year is when some of our best weather happens in Minnesota.  It’s usually warm but not too warm.  Sunny but not too hot and usually nice breezes.  This morning I took my coffee and book out on the porch to read for a while before it was time to get ready for church.  The rain fell at a steady pace and didn’t look like it would clear up. 

After a while the rain quit and the clouds began clearing.  I headed off to church and came home and fixed dinner for my family.  After dinner my husband and I attacked my “Honey Do List”.  On my agenda for the day was to finally put our dock in the lake.  It was about a month overdue.  The added advantage of procrastination was that the water was much warmer today than it would have been a month ago.  My husband said he always has such a good feeling after we put our old dock in once again.  We were going to replace a few years after we bought our home but that was nearly 20 years ago and we’ve grown attached to it.

After we finished putting in the dock I took my camera around our yard to take a few pictures.  Lately I’ve had trouble being content with my surroundings.  Always wanting to be somewhere else.  We live in a beautiful place with many things to be thankful for and others would say to me stop your whining,  “I wish I could have what you have.”  I’m working on a better attitude .  Here are a few of the treasures that I found in my own backyard.

Tiny mushrooms on bark

 

Tiny Treasures

 

Underside of Mushroom

 

Mushrooms under the Plum Tree

 

Stella D'Oro Lilly

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 27, 2010 in Nature, Reflections

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Treasures in My Own Backyard

  1. Linda Anderson

    June 28, 2010 at 7:36 am

    When the sun came out yesterday afternoon, after severe storms early in the morning, we got home from church to big fluffy clouds floating through the skies, tall grass waving in the pasture like ocean waves, and the wind through the pine in our yard carried that sweet pine fragrance. It was very warm and humid, but so pretty seeing the few flowers blooming and the trees swaying in the wind. I think as new pilots, we long to use our flight training and experience the joys of flying, so sometimes what’s down here seems humdrum, until we start looking for the beauty in little things and in the grand vistas of our Midwest landscapes! God has created a beautiful earth!

     
    • flyinggma

      June 28, 2010 at 9:07 am

      You are so correct that things seem humdrum on the ground now that I have my pilot’s license. I am thankful that I took the time to see my own surroundings in a appreciative light yesterday. I woke up this morning to a very windy, overcast day again. I truly enjoyed being home in my yard and with my family yesterday. I guess I am learning a little bit about contentment.

       
  2. Thomas Stazyk

    June 28, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    Great pictures, but I especially love the dock and the lake. How deep is the lake? What kinds of fish are in it? Hope you get a lot of chance to enjoy it this summer!

     
    • flyinggma

      June 28, 2010 at 9:43 pm

      The lake is Pine Lake and it is about 90 feet deep at the deepest point and it has some of the best water clarity in the state. It is just under 200 acres and surrounded by White Pines. The lake has good size Northerns, Sunfish, Bass and some Walleyes. One of my favorite things about the lake is hearing the loons in the evening around dusk and watching eagles soar over the lake. There is an eagles nest on the east side of the lake and we are able to watch the young as well as the old eagles. There are other larger more popular lakes in our area for waterskiing, fishing and boating. I like our lake because it reminds me of the lakes in northern Minnesota. A lot of the homes are set back in the trees and are not visible from a boat.

       

Leave a Reply

 
