RSS

More Blue Skies than usual is not always a good thing…

25 May

This morning as I sat on my front porch steps and looked to the south something didn’t look right.  I could see more blue skies than usual.  Now as a pilot I love to see more blue skies because that is generally good flying weather but something about seeing more blue skies this morning didn’t feel right either. 

I looked down our driveway and commented to my husband “It must have been windy last evening, see all the branches on the driveway and all the pinecones on the lawn.”

Then I looked back towards the south and noticed that there appeared to be pine branches near the ground. 

After noticing more pine branches near the ground I set my coffee down and walked out to investigate. 

I looked at the pine tree and thought ” I really must have slept soundly to not have heard the winds that caused this.  I must be getting old.”  When I looked at the tree a little closer I thought that two trees had gone down until I realized that it actually had a split top to it and it broke at the split top area.

While I appreciate more blue skies I will miss this pine tree.  One of the things I loved most about our property when we bought it nearly 20 years ago was all the beautiful trees.  Our elm trees have been hit hard lately and we have nearly a dozen we must cut down because they are diseased and now losing this pine will change the view once again.

If I am thankful for one thing this morning, it is the fact that the tree did not fall across the driveway and have to be dealt with this morning before work.  It can wait.  Also I am thankful that the Poplars that line our driveway are still intact.  It looks like we will be spending our Memorial Day weekend tending to our trees.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 25, 2010 in Life Happens, Nature

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “More Blue Skies than usual is not always a good thing…

  1. Linda Anderson

    May 25, 2010 at 7:47 am

    We have pine trees in our yard too and I love the sound of the wind through their branches. The pine cones are fun to see, but not fun to have to pick up. If we leave them and mow them, they going zinging through the air and if they hit the house or another solid object, they sure leave a mark! We have several elms in the yard and will eventually have to take them down, but we’re waiting for the maples to get taller before doing that. We don’t want to lose our shade in the summer.

     

Leave a Reply

 
