RSS

Now Where Can That Load Go…

24 May

Ford 650 with a overloaded Ford 1 Ton

One of the things I like about my job is that I think I know what I will be doing when I go to work but it’s not always what I end up doing.    Today I needed to ride with my husband to St Cloud to pick up a vehicle that was getting a recall taken care of at a Toyota dealership.  It’s about 40 miles away so we went over our lunch hour to the upholstery shop to drop off one vehicle and pick up another.  Then on to the Toyota dealership.  While we were on our way my phone rang and a customer that was coming to see the truck that we were picking up from the upholstery shop was on his way home from the Cities and his truck died and he would need a tow.  The other guys at the shop were busy so my husband sent me to St. Cloud to pick it up after we got back from our trip to St. Cloud.

I hopped in the flatbed that we use for towing vehicles.  It’s a Ford F650 Diesel and headed to St. Cloud.  My husband warned me that the customer’s truck was heavily loaded because he’s a tile setter by trade.  I got to the location to pick up the truck and he had it loaded to the max, 1700lbs of tile and all the equipment and tools to install the tile.  There was stuff everywhere.  There wasn’t a wasted inch of space.  I got inside the truck to put it in neutral for loading and every square inch was filled inside as much as the box of the pickup truck.  I hooked up on the truck and started winching it up on my truck.  It moaned, it groaned and made every possible sound to let me know that it wasn’t happy about the load especially in 90 degree heat.  I got it loaded and chained down and hit the road for home.

My truck is not a speedy truck.  About the best you can do loaded is about 70 mph.  Not today,  it was protesting and only giving me 57 mph.  It was a slower ride home which wouldn’t have been bad if the air conditioning was working on the truck but it apparently ran out of freon and needs to charged up for our summer season.  When I got back to the shop I was greeted by the owner of the truck.  His wife said, “They sent you to get the truck?”  I said, “Yes, no one else had time before closing time to go and get it.”  She said, “Good for you!”  Most of the time I get looks from the men when I go to pick up a vehicle like they somehow got shorted by sending a woman to do a man’s job.  One guy took months to pay his bill because he didn’t take me seriously as a tow truck driver.  I finally said, “I picked up your car from where you wanted picked up and delivered it to where you wanted it delivered for you undamaged.”  He looked at me like I was crazy for charging him for the service since one of the mechanics didn’t pick it up.  He finally paid the bill. 

Back in the day when my father-in-law used to buy and haul farm machinery with Uncle Orville they used to bring some wild loads home.  They would have combines, racks, corn heads and other miscellaneous items stacked as high as they possibly could and still make it under the power lines.  Uncle Orville’s usual comment about their load was “Now where can that go!”  Today’s loaded up pickup reminded me of the good old days of  Wayne and Uncle Orville’s loads.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 24, 2010 in Life Happens, Reflections, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Now Where Can That Load Go…

  1. Linda Anderson

    May 25, 2010 at 6:52 am

    You are definitely the queen bee when it comes to doing things! I like how you take the bull by the horns and get the job done! I repeat what the lady said, “Good for you!”
    Blessings!

     
    • flyinggma

      May 25, 2010 at 7:45 am

      No matter how much I get done, there is always something more to do. See this mornings post to see what I am talking about.

      As for bees, did you see or hear about the accident that happened in Minnesota involving a truck hauling bees yesterday? Crazy accident, unfortunately two people died in it. It involved a semi carrying a load of bees, two cars and a second semi. Somehow the two cars ended up sandwiched between the two semis. They were all traveling in the same direction. Upon impact the bee truck lost several boxes of bees off the back of the truck and there were bees everywhere making it difficult for the emergency workers.

       

Leave a Reply

 
