RSS

Seeing More Clearly and Statesmanship

18 May

 Today has been an interesting day.  I picked up my new glasses this morning and have been trying all day to be the good patient and actually wear them.  I have struggled with everyday tasks today like walking and working on my computer.  I was concentrating so hard on where to focus with the new glasses that I walked right into my brother-in-law at work.  I still haven’t figured out how to make the bi-focal portion of the glasses work for me when I am working on my computer.  I came home from work an hour early to give my eyes and headache a break.

I decided to cut the grass for a change of pace from work and because it was overgrown from almost two weeks of endless rain.  While I was mowing the grass my mind wandered to politics.  I was thinking about the problems there are in politics and how it seems like nothing of any substance gets accomplished.   There seems to be no statesmanship anymore.  It used to be that our elected officials were able to agree with someone from the other party if there was a good idea worth considering.  Now everyone is so tuned into their political party and how they will change things when they are in power.  They won’t consider voting for an idea from someone in the other party. 

My solution is to change to a jury selection process for our elected officials instead of all the endless campaign promises and commercials.  Each district would pull names from its eligible voters for their representatives just like they do for jury selection for court cases.  They would serve one term and then the next term a new set of representative would be draw to serve the next term and so on and so on…  We would have a definite cross-section of voters.  The elected officials would not be in term long enough for the lobbyists to get into their good graces and the political parties wouldn’t be such a big deal anymore.  Campaign finance laws wouldn’t be necessary because no one would need money to run for political office.    Just maybe someone might act on something that has merit and because it would be good for the country.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 18, 2010 in Reflections

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Seeing More Clearly and Statesmanship

  1. Linda Anderson

    May 19, 2010 at 7:45 am

    Sounds like a great idea to me! I think you’d get flack from the advertisers who work hard to make those expensive political ads! And it would be so hard to change everyone’s biased ideas and opinions about their political party.

    Now, the glasses – it took me a long time to get used to my bifocals (did you get lines or no lines?). My first were no lines and after about 2 weeks, I went and changed to lines – that helped so much. Now, I’m onto trifocals and love them. I have vision for everything I do, from reading, driving, and computer!

     
    • flyinggma

      May 19, 2010 at 8:39 am

      I was hoping that my eyes would feel better this morning but I woke up this morning to a pounding headache behind my left eye at six am. Maybe its totally unrelated to my new glasses.

      As far the political stuff goes, I know its just an idea that will never happen but what would be wrong with elected officials who would look at an idea without regard to where it came from but with the thought of whether it would be good for the country and those who live here.

       
  2. Thomas Stazyk

    May 21, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    Great idea! If it works like jury duty people would be anxious to finish it and get it over with rather than spend all their time posturing to get re-elected. Plus no one would get rich.

    Good luck with the glasses!

     
    • flyinggma

      May 22, 2010 at 7:33 am

      That’s exactly how I think it should work. We trust our lives to 12 jurors if we end up in court. I don’t see why it wouldn’t work for legislation. There would be no “lifers” in congress anymore . I think that people would give it their all if they thought they could really try to make our country a better place. There might be more discussions like in the early days of our country.

      The glasses are working out fine for most things but I still struggle with working on the computer.

       

Leave a Reply

 
