RSS

PIC (Pilot in Command)

19 Apr

Granite Quarry in St. Cloud, MN

This afternoon I took my husband Dean for his first plane ride with me as the pilot.  This was actually the first time he has even seen me fly a plane.  I have been training since June 2008 and he has been back at our business working while I have been taking lessons.  I told everyone else who has asked for a plane ride that Dean would be my first because without his generosity in time, financial and moral support I would not have been able to complete my dream.

Pine Lake, This is the lake I live on and the first time I have flown over my home.

Pine Lake is about 4 miles west of Upsala, Minnesota where we have our family car sales and service business.  Upsala’s population is about 425.  We built a new high school in 2004 and in the picture below you will notice that near the bottom of the picture a place has been cleared to build a new Catholic church in town.  They started the demolition just this week.  I hope that I can get up and get some more pictures as the new church goes up. 

Upsala, Minnesota As viewed from the south

It was so much fun to take Dean up and show him how much I have learned in the past year and a half and to enjoy another view of where we live.  I think the birds eye view of things is my favorite.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 19, 2010 in Flight training

 

Tags:

2 responses to “PIC (Pilot in Command)

  1. Linda Anderson

    April 19, 2010 at 7:25 am

    CONGRATULATIONS, JEANNE! What an awesome accomplishment! No one can fully understand what it takes to become Pilot in Command unless one has gone the course! I’m so happy for you and so glad you finally got to take Dean with you! Now you have your ticket to learn! And it is constantly a learning experience, because you will always be figuring out how to do things better and better as you gain hours and experience. This is a great adventure and you have years of fun ahead!

     
    • flyinggma

      April 19, 2010 at 7:54 am

      As I was preparing the plane yesterday I was surprised how quickly I stepped into the role of protector. I was now in charge and responsible for the life of another person. It was my job to make sure everything I did would make it a safe flight for Dean and I. There was no instructor in the right seat or even another pilot to help out if something went wrong. I found myself being more dilligent in everything I did from preflight to our landing. I kept asking him if he felt okay (it was a little bumpy) and I found myself explaining everything I was doing to try and make him comfortable and know what was coming next. How did that transition happen overnight? Flying is an awesome responsibility but truly delightful.

       

Leave a Reply

 
