RSS

On Cloud Nine, Flying Again

15 Mar

Its been two weeks since I last flew. I finally got up today with my CFI to practice maneuvers for my checkride. We worked on stalls, slow flight, and ground reference maneuvers. They went well and I felt more confident with the checkride coming up soon I hope. We were only up for 1.5 hours but the time went slower than it usually seems as we fly. We managed to cover a lot of skills today. I’m looking forward to our Wednesday flight to cover a few more. The airport was busy this afternoon. I think everyone was itching to get back in the air after a week of overcast skies and rain, I know I was.

It was overcast again. today but the ceilings were high enough we could fly. We managed to sneak in one day of sunshine on Sunday which melted a good share of our snow cover. As I was flying back to the airport I was amazed by the amount of water on the ground. They are predicting some flooding in our area for creeks and streams. The ground is still frozen and there is no where for the water to go except into lakes, streams, and rivers. The snow of two weeks ago is nearly gone and there is standing water everywhere. On the way back home from the airport there was a flock of snow geese collected on one of these overflowing creek beds. I wish I would have had my camera with to catch a picture of that scene. It won’t be long until all the brown of fall and the snow of winter make way for the green of spring. How fitting with St. Patrick’s Day just around the corner.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 15, 2010 in Flight training

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “On Cloud Nine, Flying Again

  1. Linda Anderson

    March 16, 2010 at 5:39 am

    So glad you got to fly! It won’t be long now! You are almost there and I can’t wait for your phone call telling me you are now a Private Pilot! How very exciting. And how great we live in a country where we can do these things. We forget all too often how richly blessed we are. We may not agree with our government, and there is corruption in so many places – even in places I never dreamed would see such deception and greed – but the good far outweighs the bad, and we can rise up on silver (or red and white) wings and fly above the dirt and grime and troubles, even if it’s for an hour or so! Rich blessings indeed!

     
    • flyinggma

      March 16, 2010 at 6:51 am

      Thank you for your kind words and the reminder of how blessed we are. I received a comment from a reader in India regarding my Breathe Deeply post that shared with me that in a lot of places in the world walking in the main form of transportation. I love the possibilities that await us if we just get out there and try something new. I believe that if I lived somewhere where walking was the only way to get somewhere that I would have a lot of worn out shoes because I wouldn’t be content to see the same scenery day after day, I would have to explore.

       
  2. shadybrooks

    March 18, 2010 at 7:22 am

    Wow – all I can say is…”Too Cool!!” I am not by any means a “flying person”, but I admire those who do! Heights and I do not play well together 🙂 Great Blog by the way!! Thank you for telling me about it 🙂 I’m gonna have to put you on my blogroll now – nice change from all of my quilty links for everybody (and me too)! Have a great day!

     
    • flyinggma

      March 18, 2010 at 8:11 am

      Thanks for the kind words. It has been a challenge over the past almost two years to accomplish this but the end is near for my flight test, maybe next week. I can hardly wait…I think… I am getting really nervous about finally taking the flight test.

       
  3. Heidi

    March 19, 2010 at 9:48 am

    I love the picture at the top of your blog.. where was that taken?

    See you tonight for the Sew-in!!

     
    • flyinggma

      March 19, 2010 at 9:59 am

      Hi Heidi, Thanks for stopping by my blog. The picture was taken at San Francisco Bay area last June. My husband and I took a belated 25th wedding anniversay trip there. We were married 26 years last August. It was a great trip. We flew out there and drove a Saturn Sky convertible back to Minnesota over a weeks time. I have a lot of fun pictures from the trip. It was great to get away just the two of us. I’m looking forward to the Sew-in and hope to see some progress on my project and cross it off my UFO list.

       

Leave a Reply

 
