RSS

Day Five and Counting…

12 Mar

Fog Again...

Yesterday while I was at work we had our first thunderstorm of the year complete with pea sized hail, thunder and lightning. One cheery customer had to share his thoughts on our first thunderstorm he said that since our first thunderstorm was on March 11 all we had to do is add 6 months to that date to figure out when our first snow will be. September 11, 2010 was his prediction. We haven’t even finished this winter and already he is telling me when our next winter will begin. I can hardly wait.

Today is day five of foggy overcast weather in Minnesota. The earlier forecast this week was for the weather to clear by Friday afternoon which was today. No sun yet and the weather forecast for tomorrow is fog, overcast again, and chance of rain in the afternoon and evening. Its hard to get excited about fog. When the forecast is for snow people anticipate the snow and look forward to the possibility of no school if there is enough snow but what do you with fog??? You can’t make fog men or fog angels and they usually don’t call school off for fog. Once a few years ago they had a two hour late start due to thick fog but after two days of thick fog they decided that school would start at the regular time even with the thick fog. Too much of a disruption in the school day to start late and it looked like the weather pattern was here to stay for a few days.

The problem with fog is everything is wet and damp. The longer we are wet and soggy from the fog it seems that people get more irritable, including me. We are stuck in limbo. There are no snow activities like snowmobiling, skiing, and snowboarding in the rain and fog. We can’t get out and enjoy the warmer temps that come with the fog because it is too wet and damp. When I was teaching school we didn’t like to send the elementary students out for recess during weather like this because they would come back in soaking wet, so by the end of the week they were crabby and irritable just like the adults.

I’m ready for spring. This Sunday we set the clocks ahead for Daylight Savings Time. That usually starts Spring for me at least in my mind. I like when its time to go home from work and it is still light outside. I feel like I still have some time left in my day to accomplish something outside of work in my yard or home. My energy level is directly linked to the amount of sunshine I get. If it is a bright sunny day I get so much more accomplished than a cloudy overcast day or the short days of winter. Its time for some progress around home. I find myself wandering from room to room looking out the window just staring at the white nothingness of the fog. Bring on the sun!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 12, 2010 in Reflections

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
