RSS

Breathing Deeply

26 Feb

Breathing Deeply

Yesterday morning I decided to change things up a little for my morning routine. Usually I do a few housekeeping things around home and get ready for work and hop in my car and drive the four miles to work. My husband and I drive together to work to our business. I looked outside yesterday and saw a beautiful sunny morning and told my husband that I would start walking to work and for him to pick me up on his way to work at whatever point I was at when he was on his way to work. I set out with my winter coat, walking shoes, gloves and travel mug of coffee and began walking.

As I walked I listened to the various birds singing on my way. I heard at least 5 different birds. The walk was a bit on the cold side. I didn’t check the temperature before I left but I did when I got to work, 5 degrees. The sun was warm but not that warm against the cold breeze. Apparently it is a rare sight for my neighbors to see me out walking towards town because several stopped to see if I needed a ride somewhere. I said “No, just trying to get some exercise for a change.” I kept walking and taking in the sights as I walked. The fields on either side of the road were snowcovered but the snow on the southside showed some signs of the sun’s strength in melting the edges of the snow drifts.

I kept walking but no signs of my husband. It took be about 55 minutes to cover 4 miles to work. I hadn’t planned on that much walking but it felt good to be outside. When we lived in town I used to walk everywhere and did very little driving. Now that we live out of town I drive everywhere. I miss the morning walks to the post office or the afternoon walks to the business with the kids in the stroller or the bicycle rides to the grocery store once the kids got older. It does a body and mind good to get out in the fresh air and breathe deeply.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2010 in New Challenges, Reflections

 

3 responses to “Breathing Deeply

  1. Linda Anderson

    March 1, 2010 at 6:39 am

    Inspiring – only my walk to work would take much longer since I drive 40 miles! But I love how you took everything in – we need more of that in this crazy world! There are some awesome things to see if we’d but open our eyes and take the time to really see. Thanks for sharing your morning walk with us! God is good – all the time!

     
  2. jakyastikpress

    March 14, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    Ha, that must have been fun! Here in India, by the way, walking is the best alternative to almost everything.

     
    • flyinggma

      March 14, 2010 at 8:34 pm

      It was a fun morning walking to work. I would love to visit India someday and walk there as well. When you walk you can enjoy your surroundings so much more.

       

Leave a Reply

 
