RSS

Middle of the Night Madness

16 Feb

Night Cross Country

Tonight I’m having one of those sleepless nights. It usually starts with a discussion of some sort right before bedtime that gets your mind rolling on some subject or another. As a mother of four kids, now all adults, there were many sleepless nights wondering when they would be home and are they safe. There were sleepless nights when there were medical conditions of family members to worry about and nights when the excitement of next day plans have kept me awake.

I usually climb out of my warm bed and find the recliner in the livingroom and a warm blanket to wrap up in. The process begins… Read a book in hopes of getting tired enough to sleep. Watch a little TV or maybe just lay down on the couch where I can’t hear my husband breathing deeply as he peacefully sleeps while I lie awake. Once in awhile I make myself some hot chocolate. I don’t know if it helps me fall asleep but it sure warms me up.

Lately when I am awake I try writing for awhile. I write about the days events or maybe what is keeping me awake. The laptop makes it so easy to start writing because you don’t need paper and pen or even have to worry about writing neat. I’m a former school teacher so neatness matters to me. I expected it of my students as well as myself.

Tonight I am awake because I am thinking about things I can not change and how to make the best of circumstances. I am a problem solver by nature so it is frustrating to me when I come upon something that is causing pain for someone and I cannot fix it. I want to ease their load but that is not always possible but I try. I read a recent quote somewhere and it went something like “Don’t be yourself, be someone better” As difficult as that is, I will try to go beyond where I think I should be under the circumstances. Try to be a little nicer, more understanding than what I think the situation calls for from me and in the end maybe small change is possible where I thought none was possible.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2010 in Quiet Times, Reflections

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Middle of the Night Madness

  1. Linda Anderson

    March 4, 2010 at 7:31 am

    I like your message about sleepless nights – especially since I had one last night. So many things were rambling around in my head, it was hard to get them to stop! I just kept thinking of all the people I know facing medical problems right now, and all the decisions we have to make about the cattle, all the things I need to do at my job! It goes on and I can’t find the off-switch! Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

     
  2. flyinggma

    March 4, 2010 at 9:21 am

    We all have sleepless nights. The only way I can deal with them is prayer and a change of activities like I said in my post. If I get up and read something inspirational or accomplish something on my to do list even if it is just going through the mail I can sometimes quiet my mind. Sometimes just writing down my worries or thoughts helps to get them out of my mind if I try to write down possible solutions.

     

Leave a Reply

 
